LWV League of Women Voters of California
Imperial, San Diego County, CA November 7, 2000 Election
Smart Voter Additional Endorsements for Craig Barkacs

Candidate for
United States Representative; District 52

This information is provided by the candidate


  • Matt Amarillas, Student, San Diego State University
  • Ernest Armstrong, President, Allergy Limited Technologies
  • Bill Ashman, Former Principal, Grossmont High School
  • Bob Avant, Former Principal, Granite Hills High School
  • Vincent Bartolotta, Founding Partner, Thorsnes, Bartolotta, McGuire & Padilla
  • Charlie Bird, Partner, Luce, Forward, Hamilton & Scripps
  • Roosevelt and Betty Brown and Family, Reading is Fundamental
  • Tom Buchenau, Attorney
  • Candace Carroll, Attorney, Sullivan, Hill, Lewin, Rez and Engel
  • Joe Cordileone, Attorney
  • Al Ducheny
  • Charlie Feurzeig, Businessman
  • Stan Foster, President, Foster Investments
  • Murray and Elaine Galinson, Retired Businessman and Homemaker
  • Archie Garcia, Management Consultant
  • Janet and Gordon Gastil, Realtor and Former School Board Member
  • Dr. Alan Gin, Economics Professor, University of San Diego
  • Joseph Glickman, Retired Businessman
  • John Grassberger, Retired Attorney
  • Joshua Gruenberg, Attorney
  • Steve Hermes, Certified Public Accountant
  • Chris and Annalee Hulburt, Attorney, Thorsnes, Bartolotta, et al and Homemaker
  • Jay Jeffcoat, Attorney, Gray, Cary, et al
  • Kathleen Juniper, Attorney
  • Dr. Jim Justeson, Former Superintendent, Lemon Grove School District
  • Janet Koehler, Real Estate Developer
  • Carlos and Linda LeGrette
  • Barry McComic, Real Estate Developer
  • Jack McGrory, Senior Vice President, San Diego Padres
  • George Mitrovich, President, City Club
  • M. Reed Morgan, Philanthropic Fundraiser
  • Larry Murnane, Attorney, Peterson & Price
  • Dr. Mark Niblack, Medical Doctor
  • Ron and Lisa Oberndorfer, Attorney, Fischbeck & Oberndorfer, and Homemaker
  • Collette Perkins, Former State Senate Staff Member
  • Sol and Helen Price, Owner, Price Entities
  • James Pokorny, Attorney
  • Dr. Bob Pyle, Former Superintendent, Grossmont Union High School District
  • Ted Roth, Businessman
  • Kathy Schack, Real Estate Broker
  • Ken Sigelman, Attorney
  • Len Simon, Attorney
  • Mel Spiro, Professor, University of California, San Diego
  • Bobbi Spoon, Certified Public Accountant
  • Dru Stainback, Former Assistant Superintendent, Cajon Valley School District
  • Chuck Swimmer, Owner, Charco Construction
  • Michael Thorsnes, Founding Partner, Thorsnes, Bartolotta, et al
  • Walt Weisman, Certified Public Accountant
  • Michael Witte, Partner, Hinchy, Witte, Wood, Anderson & Hodges
  • Ken and Beth Wood, Partner, Hinchy, Witte, Wood, Anderson & Hodges, and Homemaker


  • Dr. J.P. Amor, Professor, University of San Diego; Colonel, USAF (Ret.)
  • Evan Arapostathis, CEO/President, Business Resources, Inc.
  • Max and Melanie Anastopulos, Partner, Muns, Wagner, Anastopulos & Lynn and Household Executive
  • Evan Arapostathis, CEO/President, Business Resources Inc.
  • Ned Blass, Former Principal of Granite Hills High School
  • Malin Burnham, Chairman, The Burnham Companies
  • Dr. David Burt, Professor of Supply Management, University of San Diego; Lt. Col. USAF (Ret.)
  • Ann and Bill Catlin, Retired Business Owners
  • Dr. Curtis W. and Dr. Ruth E. Cook, Dean, School of Business University of San Diego, and Professor of Education, University of Santa Clara
  • Sandy Ehrlich, Executive Director, SDSU Entrepreneurial Management Center and Associate Professor of Management
  • Craig Engstrand, Henry's Marketplace New Business Development Director
  • William L. Exeter, Chief Operating Officer, Chicago Trust Company of California
  • Jerry Fick, Businessman, Avalon Management
  • Hugh Friedman, Law Professor, University of San Diego
  • Arn Hunsburger
  • Jean Immenschuh
  • Mel Katz, Partner, Manpower, Inc.
  • Dr. Scott Kunkel, Business Management Professor, University of San Diego
  • Kathy Lavalley, Community Activist
  • Jack Marshall, Small Business Owner
  • Marcello Mastrocola, Pilot
  • Lee Mench
  • Nora Milner, Attorney
  • Dave Nelson, Sr. Vice President, John Deere, Inc.
  • Dave Nuffer, President, Nuffer, Smith and Tucker
  • John Olbrich, President, American Security Mortgage
  • Helen Otis, Homemaker
  • Gus Pappas, Manager, Country Cable, Inc.
  • Tracy Perry, Vice President, Maxwell Technologies
  • Ralph Pesqueira, Owner, El Indio Restaurant
  • Sandy Pugliese, Board Liason/Community Relations Specialist, Grossmont Hospital
  • Dr. Mark J. Riedy, Ernest W. Hahn Professor of Real Estate, University of San Diego
  • Mary Roy, Real Estate Broker
  • Jerry Sanders, Former San Diego Police Chief
  • Alex Schack, Attorney
  • Morgan J.C. Scudi, Businessman
  • Norman Seltzer, Founding Attorney, Seltzer, Caplan, Wilkins and McMahon
  • Jack Shaw, US Navy (Ret.)
  • Jerry B. Singleton, Director, MS in Global Leadership, University of San Diego; Captain, US Navy (Ret.)
  • Dr. Bill Streshley, Professor, San Diego State University
  • Dave Waters, Attorney
  • David and Connie Wick, President, NEI, and Homemaker
  • Tony Yip, Certified Public Accountant


  • California Teamsters Public Affairs Council
  • California AFL-CIO Labor Federation
  • California Democratic Party
  • Communications Workers of America Local 9509
  • International Association of Bridge, Structural, and Ornamental Iron Workers Local 229
  • International Union of Operating Engineers Local 12
  • La Mesa Foothills Democratic Club
  • Mexican American Political Association, San Diego
  • National Association of Letter Carriers Branch No. 70
  • San Diego and Imperial County Labor Council
  • San Diego County Democratic Party
  • San Diego State University Young Democrats
  • Sheet Metal Workers' International Association Local Union No. 206
  • United Association of Plumbers & Pipefitters Local 230
  • United Automobile, Aerospace & Agricultural Implement Workers of America
  • United Food and Commercial Workers Local 135
  • Voters for Choice

Elected Officials:

  • Hon. Gray Davis, Governor
  • Hon. Dianne Feinstein, United States Senate
  • Hon. Barbara Boxer, United States Senate
  • Hon. Bob Filner, United States House of Representatives
  • Lionel Van Deerlin, Former Member, U.S. House of Representatives
  • Hon. Dede Alpert, State Senator
  • Hon. Steve Peace, State Senator
  • Wadie Deddeh, State Senator, Ret.
  • Lucy Killea, State Senator, Ret.
  • Hon. Susan Davis, Assemblywoman
  • Hon. Denise Ducheny, Assemblywoman
  • Hon. Patti Davis, City Councilwoman, Chula Vista
  • Hon. Mary Sessom, Mayor, Lemon Grove

Candidate Page || Feedback to Candidate || This Contest
November 2000 Home (Ballot Lookup) || About Smart Voter

ca/state Created from information supplied by the candidate: September 13, 2000 18:46
Smart Voter 2000 <http://www.smartvoter.org/>
Copyright © 2000 League of Women Voters of California Education Fund.
The League of Women Voters neither supports nor opposes candidates for public office or political parties.